• The Sahara

The Sahara is a vast eco-region located in the northern part of the African continent. It stretches over 5,000 kilometers from the Atlantic to the Red Sea. It is considered to be the largest hot desert in the world and divides the continent from north to south.

It covers about 10 countries: Algeria, Tunisia, Morocco, Libya, Egypt, Sudan, Chad, Niger, Mali, Mauritania and the territory of Western Sahara.

Unlike a common idea, the sand desert only covers 20% of the surface of ​​the Sahara. The Sahara has not always been a desert: it went through different climate changes from arid to humid, from hot to cold. Neolithic sites were found dating back to 9,000 years BC.